Rosebud journal app, reviewed honestly
What Rosebud costs, what free really means there, and where it differs from Renée.
The short answer
Rosebud is a guided journaling app built around prompts that push you to go deeper, and the reviews it publishes suggest people do reach real insight with it. Pricing is $12.99 a month, or $8.99 a month billed annually at $107.99 a year, with student and disability discounts offered. One thing to go in knowing: Rosebud\'s own page says it is \'free to use\', while every pricing button on that same page reads Start Free Trial. That is worth checking against what your account gets before you plan around a free tier. Renée differs by replying to each entry and carrying context between entries, with unlimited journaling on a free tier that needs no card.
Rosebud vs Renée Space
| Rosebud | Renée Space | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | The site says Rosebud is 'free to use', but each pricing button reads Start Free Trial, so what free includes is unclear | Free tier with unlimited journaling, daily mood tracking, and voice or typed entries, no card required |
| Paid price | $12.99 a month, or $8.99 a month billed annually at $107.99 a year, down from $155.99 | Free tier; paid plan for ongoing full access |
| Discounts | Student and disability discounts are offered | No separate discount programme |
| Approach | Guided prompts designed to push for depth on a single thread | Writes back to the entry, then lets you continue as a conversation |
| Does it write back | Yes, Rosebud responds to entries with reflections and suggested next steps | Every entry gets a written reply, in voice or text |
| Memory across entries | Positions itself around insight over time and pattern-finding across entries | Carries context between entries, and refers back to earlier writing |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, and web | iOS, Android, and web |
Rosebud pricing and features change. Verify on their site before relying on these details.
Your AI journal, securedYour journal, secured
You decide what we see, what we keep, and what we forget.
100% in your control
You control can your AI Journal keeps. Delete or export your data, when you want.
Encrypted, always
Renée generates reflections without a human ever reading your entries.
Your data is yours
We don’t sell your digital journal or chat data or use it to train our models.
Frequently asked questions
Is Rosebud free?
It depends on what you count as free, and Rosebud's own page is ambiguous about it. The pricing section says 'Rosebud is free to use', while every button in that same section reads Start Free Trial rather than Start Free. Some third-party comparison posts state that Rosebud removed its free plan on 30 September 2026, but those posts are published by competing journaling apps and Rosebud's site still describes the product as free to use, so we are not repeating that claim as fact. Check in the app what your account includes.
How much does Rosebud cost?
Rosebud Bloom is $12.99 a month, or $8.99 a month when billed annually, shown as $107.99 a year reduced from $155.99, a saving of about 30 percent. Student and disability discounts are available. Prices are from Rosebud's own pricing section.
What is Rosebud good at?
Prompting. The written reviews Rosebud publishes repeatedly describe its prompts leading somewhere unexpected, and users crediting it with insight into long-standing problems. If your difficulty with journaling is not knowing what to write, that is the strength to weigh.
Rosebud or Renée: which should I use?
Both reply to what you write, so the decision is about cost and continuity. Rosebud is a paid product with strong guided prompts. Renée has a free tier with unlimited journaling and no card required, and is built to carry context between entries so it refers back to what you wrote before. If a predictable free tier matters, that is the difference.
Does Rosebud remember previous entries?
Rosebud positions itself around insight that builds over time and finding patterns across entries, which requires some continuity between sessions. How far back that reaches is not stated precisely on the marketing pages, so it is worth testing with a few weeks of entries before committing annually.
Is Rosebud a therapy app?
No. Rosebud is a journaling app with AI reflection, not clinical care, and it is not a crisis service. It does list therapy and coaching resources separately. If you are in crisis, contact a local emergency number or a crisis line.
Can I try Rosebud before paying?
Yes. Every pricing button offers a free trial, so you can write in it before being charged. As with any trial, note the renewal date, because the annual plan is charged as a single $107.99 payment.
Is Rosebud free?
It depends on what you count as free, and Rosebud's own page is ambiguous about it. The pricing section says 'Rosebud is free to use', while every button in that same section reads Start Free Trial rather than Start Free. Some third-party comparison posts state that Rosebud removed its free plan on 30 September 2026, but those posts are published by competing journaling apps and Rosebud's site still describes the product as free to use, so we are not repeating that claim as fact. Check in the app what your account includes.
What is Rosebud good at?
Prompting. The written reviews Rosebud publishes repeatedly describe its prompts leading somewhere unexpected, and users crediting it with insight into long-standing problems. If your difficulty with journaling is not knowing what to write, that is the strength to weigh.
Does Rosebud remember previous entries?
Rosebud positions itself around insight that builds over time and finding patterns across entries, which requires some continuity between sessions. How far back that reaches is not stated precisely on the marketing pages, so it is worth testing with a few weeks of entries before committing annually.
Can I try Rosebud before paying?
Yes. Every pricing button offers a free trial, so you can write in it before being charged. As with any trial, note the renewal date, because the annual plan is charged as a single $107.99 payment.
How much does Rosebud cost?
Rosebud Bloom is $12.99 a month, or $8.99 a month when billed annually, shown as $107.99 a year reduced from $155.99, a saving of about 30 percent. Student and disability discounts are available. Prices are from Rosebud's own pricing section.
Rosebud or Renée: which should I use?
Both reply to what you write, so the decision is about cost and continuity. Rosebud is a paid product with strong guided prompts. Renée has a free tier with unlimited journaling and no card required, and is built to carry context between entries so it refers back to what you wrote before. If a predictable free tier matters, that is the difference.
Is Rosebud a therapy app?
No. Rosebud is a journaling app with AI reflection, not clinical care, and it is not a crisis service. It does list therapy and coaching resources separately. If you are in crisis, contact a local emergency number or a crisis line.
Your story is worth remembering.
Write it in your digital journal today to have something to look back on tomorrow.






